So I log in to WordPress this evening to continue my compulsive way-after-the-fact proofreading and re-re-editing of the last couple of posts, as I do, and imagine my complete and utter shock at having been nominated for an Arte y Pico award!  Here I am, blathering into the ether under the assumption that no one who doesn’t already know me and/or hasn’t been personally bribed with my cookies even knows this thing exists, and food blogs are a dime a dozen anyway, but Camille, an actual trained pastry chef, thinks me worthy of an award!

I’m just… I’m all verklempt.

I’d like to thank Camille for nominating me, and WordPress for enabling those random links so that Camille could find me.  And I’d like to thank His Lordship, who puts up with the giant mess I leave in the sink every Sunday night, saves me from buying every kitchen gadget and cookbook in sight, and provides an endless supply of creative ideas. I can’t leave out the Monster (the puppy’s nickname, from her electronics-destroying infancy), who conveniently disposes of cookies I’ve left the brown sugar out of and my extra pizza crusts so I can save room for the cheesy parts.  My parents and my baby brother, for accepting and encouraging my weirdo food choices, and my grandmother, for teaching me that pretty much everything can be fixed and improved with half a pint of cream.  My brother-in-law, for giving me Williams-Sonoma gifts on my birthdays. My coworkers, who graciously consume my baked goods so I don’t have to polish them all off myself.  And, and PBS, for producing the food shows that got me started when I was just a kid, and the Food Network, for sucking so hard and giving me enough Celebrity Chefs I Hate to provide material for a lifetime, and Trader Joe’s, who helps me make the magic happen every week, and, um…. WOOOOO!  I just… WOOOOO! I can’t believe…. WOOOOO!  WOOOOOOO!

Yeah, I’m not fooling anyone with the Cuba Gooding Jr. act, am I?  I’ve never WOOOOO!ed in my life.  But seriously, I am deeply touched and grateful that Camille bestowed this on me.  In this age of everyone and their grandmother blogging, you do your thing and you hope someone’s listening, and it’s an incredible thrill to know that someone is.  Y muchisimas gracias a Eseya, por haber establecido este premio.

Now, the rules are:

  1. Pick five blogs that you consider deserve the award for their creativity, design, interesting material, and also for contributing to the blogging community, no matter what language.
  2. Each award has to have the name of the author and also a link to his or her blog to be visited by everyone.
  3. Each award winner has to show the award and put the name and link to the blog that has given her or him the award itself.
  4. The award winner and the one who has given the prize have to show the link of the Arte y Pico blog, so everyone will know the origin of this award.

There are a ton of unbelievably professional food blogs I turn to for inspiration and guidance that I could nominate, from 101Cookbooks to Serious Eats to the tragically retired Cupcake Bakeshop, but they’re all so big-league that it’d be a drop in the ocean to them.  Likewise Television Without Pity, which takes snark to a whole new and institutionalized level I can’t hope to reach.

I’ll do my best to come up with some more pragmatic choices, with one initial exception:

1. TBogg, who is totally big time now and could swat it away like a July mosquito, but I’m proud to say I knew him before he was quite that big time, and one of the proudest moments of my life was when one of my snippy little comments on the Salon boards was praised by the Master of Snark.
2. Pip in the City, who is a fabulous baker, a great writer, and an amazing photographer.  Her blog feels like visiting a second home, since she cooks what I grew up eating and speaks with love of the places I would have grown up in if my family hadn’t emigrated. She also has the second-cutest puppy in the whole world.
3. Brass Goggles, because I have all kinds of random obsessions, and steampunk is my latest one.  They (it’s now a collective effort) find the neatest examples and sources of this incredibly fun aesthetic, and present them in the most user-friendly way imaginable.  You may roll your eyes and think this is the nerdiest thing ever, but I guarantee you will find something on this site so beautiful it’ll make you go “Wow!”
4. Curious Goods, creator of the coolest stuff ever. The level of imagination and craftsmanship is unbelievable, and makes me wish I had unlimited funds to spend on commissioning everything I ever wanted to have as a geeky bookworm kid.
5. The “Blog” of “Unnecessary” Quotation Marks, which I recently re-discovered.  Bethany is out there, fighting the good fight, every day.  This is not just a pet peeve of mine, people; this is a scourge of our times.  The only threat more clear and present than this is the misuse of “comprise”.

I’m also going to suggest a possible future contender. Rosella, whom I’ve known for years and have been begging nearly as long to write for a wider audience, just started her own gardening blog.  Knowing of her passion for this subject, her expertise, and her elegant and gracious writing style, I am delighted to see her finally establish a presence and am sure it’ll be a hit.  I can only hope that one or two tales of the Vegecidal Mr. Rosella also make their way into the blog.  Go, Rosella!

To get back to business, there’s really nothing of interest to report on the pantry-clearing front, since we just had pasta with the leftover sauce from making pizza this weekend.  The excitement should resume later this week, even if I do have to — razzafrazzit — work on Saturday.

